top of page

Time to sculpt.

Hi this month I have returned to working on some small marble pieces.

For those of you who don't know about these, I will explain;

In Barmouth, where our holiday let cottage is, there is a museum (ty Gwyn) dedicated to The Bronze Bell wreck.

Adrian and I were visiting the museum and engaged in conversation with one of the volunteers there. He spoke about a local sculptor who carved a sculpture from marble that was recovered from the wreck. He said he had some small pieces of marble left behind from the sculpture. He said I could have a few of these pieces to see what I could do with them. He gave them to me and I spent some time deliberating what to do with them. I also had work and other commissions to honour, but now I am free to continue.

After thinking about what to do with them for some time, Should I link to the Blackcountry or something to do with Italy and Barmouth, I just went with what the shape of the marble looked like to me. So I have a shell like thing going on.

I will add some pictures of work in progress when I have uploaded them from my phone.


bottom of page